World Championship Of Online Poker $10m Main Event This Sunday

Posted on September 24, 2016 - Last Updated on September 27, 2016

[toc]The $5,000 buy-in of the World Championship of Online Poker Main Event takes place at PokerStars this Sunday, kicking off at 14:00 ET.

There is a guaranteed prize pool of $10,000,000 with at least $1.5 million being awarded to the eventual champion.

Who’s won big so far?

The biggest single cash of any online poker player so far was by Sweden’s bencb789, who won the $102,000 buy-in Super High Roller event for $1,184,201.92.

So far, SixthSenS19 boasts the most cashes with 20, three of which were final tables. Both Colisea and Shaun Deeb have tied for the most final tables on three apiece while aDrENalin710 is the only player to have won two WCOOP events this year.

The WCOOP Player of the Series leaderboard

The WCOOP leaderboard awards points to players that make the money in any WCOOP event. The higher you cash, the more points you receive.

The winner of the WCOOP Player of the Series will win a trophy, an Ultimate Bahamas Experience and a ticket to the Turbo Championship of Online Poker Main Event, worth a total of $40,000.

The runner-up receives $10,000 cash and a TCOOP Main Event ticket, with third through fifth receiving $7,500, $5,000 and $2,500 respectively.

So far, SixthSenSe19 from Uruguay is leading the way with 580 points; they’re way ahead of Mexico’s blanconegro on 405. However, with several events left to play including the Main Event, anything could happen.

A history of WCOOP Main Event champions

The inaugural World Championship of Online Poker took place way back in 2002, with just nine events and a mere $730,000 in total prizes – less than half of what the winner of this year’s Main Event will take home.

WCOOP 2005 – the first eight-figure year

The third WCOOP was the first online tournament series to award eight figures in prizes, with $12 million up for grabs across 15 events, competed over by almost 20,000 players.

WCOOP 2007 – the first million-dollar prize

The Main Event, then carrying a buy-in of $2,600, attracted 2,998 players this year which meant that after 21 hours of play ka$ino won the first million-dollar prize in WCOOP history, taking home $1,378,330 and the bracelet.

WCOOP 2010 – a record smashing Main Event

The 2010 edition of WCOOP was the biggest ever online tournament series at the time. With 62 events taking place over more than three weeks, a total of $63,157,150 was awarded. The Main Event saw 2,443 entrants and awarded POTTERPOKER one of the largest ever tournament prizes of $2.2 million.

WCOOP 2012 – maratik wont million

Russian player maratik might boast the greatest return on investment in poker history, having qualified for the WCOOP Main Event for Frequent Player Points worth just a few cents. He parlayed those into over a million dollars after his legendary final table deal negotiations.

WCOOP 2014 – the reign of Holz begins

In 2014, Fedor “CrownUpGuy” Holz won the Main Event for $1.3 million after a six-handed deal. It would prove to be the start of a ridiculous run for Holz, who has won more than $20 million in live poker tournaments since then.

Matt Perry Avatar
Written by
Matt Perry

A veteran of the online gambling industry, Matt Perry has worn a number of hats since he first began working in online poker and iGaming in 2007. He currently writes for a variety of publications focused on legal online gambling, and in the past has served as an editor, copywriter, content manager and reporter.

View all posts by Matt Perry